IBD

How do you clear your head?

Jackie_ZExpert
Patient
February 11, 2022 in IBD

I got my undergraduate degree in fine arts, which almost feels laughable now, because I am FAR from a fine artist. Early last year I decided to try to reconnect with my creativity to help handle. :::gestures to the whole world::: all of this.

Today I started working with an art coach to held get me through some of my blocks and I am SO excited.

I don't feel like I can use art just yet as a way to clear my head, but that's what I'm working on.

It got me wondering though, how do you clear your head? What brings you joy and peace and are you able to use whatever it is when life/IBD/everything feels hard to manage?

1 - 4 of 4 Other Answers

• Wendy_LExpert
    Care Partner of Adult

I never thought I liked crafts, but I am surprised to admit that when I do engage in them, I find it remarkably meditative and satisfying. It's odd because I don't go out of my way to seek out this type of activity, but I never seem to regret it when I do.

February 12, 2022
  • I spend a lot of time in bed when my gastro symptoms get bad. This can sometimes make the symptoms less painful, but it means I often feel pretty blah. I find the best way to clear my head is to write down everything I'm thinking, trying to remember, people I need to talk to, symptoms im having, etc. on a white board. This helps my brain feel less panicky. Then I try to get outside. When my symptoms are really bad I sometimes can't manage a walk, but I will simply sit on my front steps for 15 minutes. Breathing in the fresh air, looking at something other than my screen or ceiling, really makes me feel a lot calmer.

February 14, 2022
  • KatelynPatient

I have three kinds of "resets," and each one serves a different purpose for me.